Connect with us


Las Vegas Aces eye rare three-peat in 2024 WNBA season – NBC Los Angeles



Las Vegas Aces eye rare three-peat in 2024 WNBA season – NBC Los Angeles

Will the Las Vegas Aces make it three WNBA titles in as many seasons?

Las Vegas enters the 2024 marketing campaign on the heels of a dominant two-year run the place they’ve twice been topped as champions.

Since Becky Hammon took over as head coach, Las Vegas has gone a mixed 60-16 within the common season and 16-3 within the playoffs en path to capturing the franchise’s first two WNBA titles.

A’ja Wilson and Co. made historical past by going back-to-back final yr, and so they’ll be a part of much more rarefied air if they’ll pull off a three-repeat in 2024…

What number of WNBA groups have received consecutive championships?

The Aces final yr turned simply the third franchise to win consecutive titles, becoming a member of the Los Angeles Sparks and the now-disbanded Houston Comets.

Has a WNBA staff ever received three straight championships?

Sure, however it’s solely been achieved as soon as.

What number of WNBA groups have received three straight championships?

The Comets are the one staff in WNBA historical past to win three or extra championships in a row. Powered by a Massive Three of Cynthia Cooper, Sheryl Swoopes and Tina Thompson, Houston received the primary 4 WNBA titles from 1997-2000.

The Sparks, in the meantime, went back-to-back in 2001 and 2002.

What WNBA staff has received probably the most championships?

The Comets are tied with the Minnesota Lynx and Seattle Storm for probably the most WNBA titles with 4. The Sparks, Dallas Wings — previously the Detroit Shock — and Phoenix Mercury have three championships apiece, whereas the Aces are the one different franchise with a number of titles.

Listing of WNBA champions by yr

Here is a take a look at each WNBA champion by yr:

2023: Las Vegas Aces

2022: Las Vegas Aces

2021: Chicago Sky

2020: Seattle Storm

2019: Washington Mystics

2018: Seattle Storm

2017: Minnesota Lynx

2016: Los Angeles Sparks

2015: Minnesota Lynx

2014: Phoenix Mercury

2013: Minnesota Lynx

2012: Indiana Fever

2011: Minnesota Lynx

2010: Seattle Storm

2009: Phoenix Mercury

2008: Detroit Shock

2007: Phoenix Mercury

2006: Detroit Shock

2005: Sacramento Monarchs

2004: Seattle Storm

2003: Detroit Shock

2002: Los Angeles Sparks

2001: Los Angeles Sparks

2000: Houston Comets

1999: Houston Comets

1998: Houston Comets

1997: Houston Comets

With the draft full, right here’s a take a look at key dates going into the 2024 WNBA marketing campaign.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *